Australia Awards in Indonesia

The Australia Awards are prestigious, transformational scholarships and short courses offered to emerging leaders for study, research and professional development in Australia

General requirements

Applicants of the Australia Awards Indonesia Nusantara Scholarships must already hold an undergraduate degree and meet all eligibility requirements, including:



Grade Point Average

GPA of 2.7 from A or B accredited university. GPA of 3.2 from C accredited university.

Masters in Urban Design requires 2.9 or 3.5 respectively

English Requirements

Government of Indonesia and Open Category
IELTS 6.5 (no band lower than 6.0), TOEFL iBT 79 or PTE Academic 58

Equity Target Groups:
IELTS 6.0 (no band lower than 6.0), TOEFL iBT 69 or PTE Academic 50


The English results must be current (within three years of the closing date of application);

  • Applicants may be able to sit for the MEPT (Monash English Placement Test) in place of an IELTS/TOEFL iBT/PTE test. Further information on how to register MEPT here:
  • Applicants for the Master of Business Innovation also require a minimum of two years relevant work experience;
  • Applicants for the Master of Urban Design need to submit a Design Project Portfolio of max 20 pages;
  • Answer all relevant questions on the application form.

Applicants must be able to show that they will be able to contribute to the development of Indonesia’s new capital city, Nusantara.

AAI seeks to produce alumni who have the attributes listed in the table below. Your ability to demonstrate existing skills and qualities in these areas will be highly regarded as an indication of your potential to contribute to development outcomes in the future.

Back to Top