Australia Awards in Indonesia

The Australia Awards are prestigious, transformational scholarships and short courses offered to emerging leaders for study, research and professional development in Australia

Allison Sudradjat and Hadi Soesastro Prizes

The Allison Sudradjat Prize honours the memory of Allison Sudradjat, the Minister Counsellor for the Australian Agency for International Development who died tragically on 7 March 2007 as a result of a plane crash in Yogyakarta. Each year, four Australia Awards recipients who are outstanding scholars and current or emerging leaders also receive an Allison Sudradjat Prize. Four prizes, up to $25,000 per winner, are awarded to scholars from Indonesia. The winners are identified at the point of selection of Australia Awards recipients.

The Hadi Soesastro Prize honours one of Indonesia’s most eminent thinkers, the late Professor Hadi Soesastro, who was a great friend of Australia. Professor Soesastro was an economist, academic and public intellectual with close personal, intellectual and policy connections to Australia, who made major contributions to Asia-Pacific cooperation and development in Indonesia. 

Two Hadi Soesastro Prizes are awarded annually. Scholars studying at Doctorate level must apply for the Hadi Soesastro Prize while studying in Australia. The Prize, up to $25,000 per winner, is intended to supplement the academic programs of current recipients of Australia Awards from Indonesia undertaking PhD studies in the areas of Political Economy, International Economic Relations, or an area of study that is a priority for Australia-Indonesia development cooperation. 

The Allison Sudradjat and Hadi Soesastro Prize guidelines are available here.


Back to Top